Small Towns Aren’t So Bad

When I left university I didn’t want to rush into producing my own photography (I know the work I produced at university was my own but technically I didn’t own it completely), I knew if I  did that it would be as good as it could be because I would be forcing myself. So as of a couple of weeks ago my camera has been travelling with me again, and I have been working on something that has potential.

I knew from the start that I wanted to do some sort of documentary project so I looked into people who did that sort of photography. As I have looked into this style of photography before I knew who I wanted to research first. I know this could be a reason not to go in this direction but I don’t feel I have explored the full potential of this style of photography. I originally thought I would produce images of the people of my home town. However when I went out on my first walk to get a feel of what I would be doing I found the scenery much more interesting.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The Fountain
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
St Michaels Church
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Riverside Graffiti
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Riverside Graffiti

I’m shooting this on my Olympus pen e-pl7 and experimenting with the inbuilt filters, before doing this I make sure to take a natural photograph as well. I’m doing this because  I don’t want to change the natural image excessively and this way I can make sure the image isn’t altered too much. After I produced my first contact sheet I knew I was heading in the right direction with this project. This gave me the confidence to continue with it and share it with anyone reading this.

Follow my Instagram for updates: https://www.instagram.com/rhiannachelsea/?hl=en

What do you guys think of this project?

Leave a Reply

