Me and My Photography

I don’t think I have ever really told you guys about my photography story and I wouldn’t really say its that complicated but it does have a lesson you could learn from it. (I hope that doesn’t sound too preachy) It may take me a while to get to the point but thats because there is so much stuff that happened in between each main point of this story and I don’t want to skip anything.

So I got my first camera when I was very young, I think my parents got it for me because I showed an interest in their cameras from a young age? Im talking like 6/7, so I grew up capturing my life and what interested me. I can’t remember the first camera I got but I know I loved it, it was my prized possession.

When I got to college I found the place I was applying to also had a photography course and I thought it would be something I would enjoy. I wasn’t the best at the course but I had so much fun and made as much effort as possible. As college went on I realised this is what I wanted to do so I began applying to universities.

I was lucky enough to get conditional offers from all the universities I applied for but I had my mind set on one, I wanted to go to UCS based in Ipswich. My college class went on a trip to visit the university and hear about what they did and how they approached teaching, it sounded amazing and the surrounding area was beautiful.

Around four months into my studies I got a job as a receptionist in a club and a few months after that I was given a chance on the camera and after that it was no more reception for me. After a few more months of working on the camera my boss decided it was a good idea to put my watermark on the images. As this was going on my faith in my studies was slowly going down hill and I was struggling to get back into the flow.

After my second year I decided enough was enough, I was miserable because I was doing something that honestly felt like it was draining the life from me. This is also something that set my anxiety through the roof, I never want to disappoint anyone and I felt if I was honest about not enjoying my studies I would be disappointing my family. However once I told them they were super supportive as always and I had nothing to worry about.

The only thing that sucked about not continuing with my studies is that fact I either needed to find a well paid day job that didn’t clash with my night job so I could afford a flat in Ipswich. Or I move back to Braintree in with my parents and have to quit my job for the time being. If your new to my blog I moved back to Braintree and got a day job in retail and still produce images which I post on here and on my Instagram.

The moral of the story is you may not know whats going to happen in the future and things may happen that you don’t expect but just follow your instincts. If it doesn’t work out the way you plan adjust to that situation as best you can. Be honest with yourself other wise you can end up where you don’t want to be. This is what I did and I’m happier than I had been for a long while.

Have you ever had a similar situation? How did you pull through? Tell me everything!

Leave a Reply

